Wilfrid Laurier University

Wilfrid Laurier University

TOP University

Laurier traces its roots to the opening of the Evangelical Lutheran Seminary in Waterloo more than 100 years ago in 1911. We’ve gone through several changes since then, and in 1973 our name changed from Waterloo Lutheran University to Wilfrid Laurier University. In 1999, we opened our campus in Brantford. In 2018, the Ontario government announced final approval for Laurier to establish a campus in Milton in partnership with Conestoga College

A Laurier education is about building the whole person: mind, body and spirit. We believe that your university career must lead to more than just a job to be considered a success; Laurier creates engaged and aware citizens in a culture that inspires lives of leadership and purpose.


Sir Wilfrid Laurier has been on two Canadian stamps and adorns the Canadian $5 bill. More importantly, he was Canada’s seventh prime minister from 1896-1911 and served 45 years in the House of Commons. He was a nation builder, known for promoting individual liberty and his skills at conciliation.

#1: most sustainable campus in Ontario (2017, Corporate Knights
#1: national ranking in “student career services” (CERIC)
1: national ranking in “course instructors” (2017, Maclean’s)
#1: Laurier has the largest business degree co-op program in Canada
1:25: Laurier’s faculty-tostudent ratio
100,000+: alumni worldwide

shaping students career since last three decades

Explore your study options with us

Your Awesome Agents/Education Partners